TOKL – Time Out KL Food Awards.. Who Won?

We attended the Time Out KL Food Awards just a couple of days ago.

If numbers are anything to go by then the event was a rocking success. We saw hundreds of restaurant owners, as well as local celebrities and industry members at the Time Out KL Food Awards 2010 held on November the 24th at MAP KL, Solaris Dutamas, Kuala Lumpur. This event was the biggest dining awards event held in Kuala Lumpur, voted by the people in the city and this was the second year running of the awards. There were and additional three new categories this year, for “Best New Restaurant”, “Best Independent Restaurant” and “Best Restaurateur” added to the existing 13 award categories of cuisines, plus the “Outstanding Chef of the Year” award.

P8265623And the Winners are:
Best Fine Dining – Lafite @ Shangri-la KL

Best Chinese – Chynna @ KL HiltonBest Continental – La Bodega
Specially Commended – El Cerdo

Best Healthy Eating/Vegetarian – Marmalade

Best Indian – Bombay Palace

Best Italian – Prego

Best Japanese – Fukuharu Specially Commended – Zipangu

Best Malay – Bijan
Specially Commended – Enak

P7133128Best Middle Eastern – Al Amar
Specially Commended – Tarbush

Best Seafood – High Tide
Specially commended – Magnificent Fish & Chips

Best Steak house – Prime @ Le Meridien KL
Specially Commended – QBA, Westin KL

Best Thai/Indochinese – Tamarind Springs

Best Mamak/Hawker – Nasi Kandar Pelita

P7183389Best Pub Grub- Jarrod & Rawlins
Specially Commended – Sid’s Pub

Best New Restaurant- The Pressroom, Bangsar Shopping Centre

Best Independent Restaurant – Albion, KL
Specially Commended – Rama V, Jalan U-Thant

Best Restaurateur – Edward Hyde of Gastrodome
Specially Commended – Benj Conway of the Nero Group

Chef David King, Director - Kitchens of The Westin KL (2)-1

Outstanding Chef of the Year – Chef David King from Westin Kuala Lumpur
Specially commended – Damon Campbell from Lafite

Congratulations to Time Out KL for organizing such a successful event!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *